advice wanted - 7A28-7040 vs 7A28-703A vs 7A38-7020

7A28, 7A38 and 7A48 (plus 7A34, 7A36, 7A07 and 7A54)
Peter_030

advice wanted - 7A28-7040 vs 7A28-703A vs 7A38-7020

Post by Peter_030 »

I'm completely new to this, and I need guidance, advice, feedback. I'm looking for a 7A in (very) good condition for an (hopefully) acceptable price. You can read a bit about me in my introductory post here: https://seiko7a38.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=263

I've narrowed down my wish list to 3 items:

- 7A28-7040 : https://www.chrono24.com/seiko/speedmas ... 537709.htm
CapturFiles.jpg
CapturFiles.jpg (183.33 KiB) Viewed 942 times
AFAICT, its condition pretty much is as advertised, and the price seems very reasonable.
I don't mind the leather strap. No day/day is fine.
It's from within the EU, which is a bonus (no extra costs, apart from shipping)

- 7A28-703A : https://www.chrono24.com/seiko/pocket-w ... 080886.htm
CapturFiles_1.jpg
CapturFiles_1.jpg (186.73 KiB) Viewed 942 times
Aesthetically very attractive, IMHO. Condition appears as advertised. Absence of papers and/or box isn't important to me.
And I much appreciate the colour accents. Visually very appealing!
Price seems acceptable. Again a seller in the EU (see my comment above)

- 7A38-7020: https://www.ebay.com/itm/334719744321
CapturFiles_2.jpg
CapturFiles_2.jpg (92.77 KiB) Viewed 942 times
I've developed a (mild) soft spot for the RO 'look'.
Not too certain about the day/date in white (btw, can I set the day abbreviation to English?) but I assume a no-date version hasn't been made.
Price is within my budget if the watch cannot be faulted for unacceptable signs of wear.
Also sold from within the EU (no 22% VAT, custom fees, or import tax).

I'd like some guidance as to how these asking prices relate to the product: are they realistic, or should I disregard one or more offers.