Please "help me" 🙏 - case assembly

The place to ask questions; hopefully get some help - and share advice.
Andrea80

Please "help me" 🙏 - case assembly

Post by Andrea80 »

Good morning,
after some failed trials, I decided to write here to asking help to the expert users about how re assembly the 7Axx case.
Just an introduction: I'm not an expert, I for sure don't believe my jobs are comparable with watchmakers results, for me it's just an hobby that sometimes makes me satisfied and sometimes makes me angry πŸ˜….
The topic is, what's the best way to assembly a 7A38 case, tips and tricks that can increase the probability to make a good job.
In my last jobs I had big problems assembling the glass and bezel using the old gaskets (when it's impossible find the original or the replacement on Cousins). Especially about the bezel... I find it very hard to assembly.
My questions are:
- where it's preferable put the gasket (properly lubricated): on the case or on the bezel? The last I assembled was putted in the bezel but maybe it was just a fluke
- when I have to assembly the glass: before the bezel installation or after? I usually assembled glass as last part, but maybe assembling it before can increase the surface for press die reducing the "tilting"issue during pressing the bezel in the case?
- how pre assembly the part? Often it's very hard to guarantee any angular misalignment between parts, can the gap from parts regain the correct position? Sometimes I think the chamfer for help the assembly it's too small, it's seems inexistent...
Almost same questions I think still valid for the crystal installation.
I have just bought a new press from cousins, it's the screw version:
https://www.cousinsuk.com/product/screw ... ode=C41040, I hope it can helps me in the future 🀞🏻.
Thank very much for anyone could help me, I appreciate very much any kind of help and please be patient for my basic questions and issue πŸ˜…

Andrea80

Re: Please "help me" 🙏 - case assembly